Teams

Nau mai, Haere Mai
Meet Our Teams  

 
Our four learning teams, Rapanui, Tuawera, Te Onepoto and Awaroa  get their names from the four key landmarks that were used by Māori to identify different areas for gathering kaimoana. Rapanui (Years 0-2) was the entrance point to the fishing grounds and as such is the starting point for our ākonga (learners) as they enter our school.
 
As our ākonga navigate their way through the school they are guided through the landmarks of Rapanui (Years 0-2), Tuawera (Years 3&4), Te Onepoto (Years 5&6) and conclude their journey at Awaroa (Years 7&8) the highest of the landmarks where they can look out on the wider world just as Māori have done for generations.

Leadership Team

Principal

Anna Granger 
principal@sumner.school.nz

Associate Principal

Tim Lowe
ap@sumner.school.nz

Deputy Principal & SENCO

Rebecca Power
dp@sumner.school.nz

Rapanui (Years 0-2) Team Leader

Hannah Bennion
hbennion@sumner.school.nz

Tuawera (Years 3 & 4) Team Leader

Rebecca Power
dp@sumner.school.nz

Te Onepoto (Years 5 & 6) Team Leader

Natasha Fraser
nfraser@sumner.school.nz

Awaroa (Years 7 & 8) Team Leader

Andrew Daniels
adaniels@sumner.school.nz

Rapanui (Years 0-2)

Room 3 ​

Hannah Bennion
hbennion@sumner.school.nz

Room 4

Rachel Todd
rtodd@sumner.school.nz

Room 5 

Bridget Scoular
bscoular@sumner.school.nz

​Room 6

Emma Williamson (nee Browne-Cole)
ebrowne-cole@sumner.school.nz

Tuawera (​Years 3 and 4)

Room  9 

Rachel Kahi
rkahi@sumner.school.nz

Room  10

Jo Covell-Burger
jcovellburger@sumner.school.nz

Room 11

Rebecca Power and Hannah Smaill 
dp@sumner.school.nz and hsmaill@sumner.school.nz

Room 12

George Hart 
ghart@sumner.school.nz

​Te Onepoto (​Years 5 and 6)

Room 13 

Robyn Lean
rlean@sumner.school.nz

Room 14 

Vanessa Kearns & Grace Shearer 
vkearns@sumner.school.nz & gshearer@sumner.school.nz

Room 15

Natasha Fraser
nfraser@sumner.school.nz

Room 16

​Kim Wilson
kwilson@sumner.school.nz

Awaroa (​Years 7 and 8)

Room 17

Gwen Vine
gvine@sumner.school.nz

Room18 

Andrew Daniels
adaniels@sumner.school.nz

Room 19 

Melanie Bradley
mbradley@sumner.school.nz

Awaroa Core Learning Teacher

Jen Smyth 
jsmyth@sumner.school.nz

Learning Support

Reading Recovery

Johanni Gilmore

Learning Support Workers

Anna Gilkison

Annah Lyons

Melanie Eastgate

Breda Williams

​Kerri L’Estrange

Music Team

CSM Band Programme

Jody Keehan

Recorder

 

Violin

​Amalia Drain

Singing

 

Guitar

Rob Tate

Drums

Rob Tate

Piano

Helen Reddecliffe

Administration & Grounds

Business ManagerSue Stevens
sstevens@sumner.school.nz
Administration OfficerDeborah Haggerty
admin@sumner.school.nz
LibrarianYvonne Hall
librarian@sumner.school.nz